You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic.

Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular.

Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Submit Your Essay

Internet shopping has revolutionized our shopping experience. Majority of the people prefer online shopping over traditional shopping method. It is handy and convenient mode of shopping compared to any other forms of shopping and I will explain the advantages and disadvantages of online shopping and why its disadvantages are out shadowed by its advantages.

The online shopping attracts customer with discounts and cashback offers. Due to these eye candy offers people usually choose online shopping over legacy shopping mode- where one should visit a shop to purchase items like books, train tickets, groceries, and so on. It allows users to buy things over the internet and it does not require customer to visit to the stores and deliver the items to customers preferred location in the name of home delivery. In my experience, I personally hate visiting shops to buy items and prefer online shopping because I feel it is more convenient and I don’t need to stand in billing queue to pay my bills.

Even though online shopping is advantageous but it also has some disadvantages. The items purchased from online shopping may not have instant delivery option and if we were in the need of a specific item, we may not get the item immediately. Sometimes the items ordered from online is different than the orders receive and we should unnecessarily go through replacement or refund process for the delivered item. We cannot test the authenticity of the products in online shopping and we should rely only the specific description given on the shopping portal. I suggest to buy egg and vegetables from nearby grocery store over online shopping because the quality of delivery is compromised in case of vegetables and eggs, in my case, the delivered eggs were already broken and they are not in edible conditions. Fraud cases are common in online shopping in terms of goods and payment options.

In conclusion, the disadvantages of the online shopping is shadowed by its advantages. It is because online shopping is so handy and it can be done anywhere at any time irrespective of the age group.