The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The petition to the city council of Centerville request to ban cell phone use on sidewalks to control sidewalk rage. The petitioner expects the ban on cell phone will yields the same results of Meiddletown. However, before this argument properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

FIrst of all, the Middletown and Centerville are hardly comparable. Because, the petitioner did not account for the similarities between these two towns with respect to its sidewalk dimensions. It is also possible that Centerville sidewalks are too narrow and imposing ban on cell phones might not solve the issue of sidewalk rage. It is safe to say that the sidewalks are occupied by the illegal vendors and this causes discomfort to pedestrians and leaves no space for the pedestrains and city council may need to worry about vacating these instead of banning cell phones.

Second of all, Centreville is a place where majority of the population are children, old age people, pregnant women or physically challanged and if they use sidewalks, it may cause discomfort for others and the remaining pedestrians may be rude because they are already late to work or stuck after this slow moving pedestrians and they might loose their temperment and it may lead to assaults, damaging the properties near by the sidewalks and eventually this will disrupt the pedesrtian traffic.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the petitioner able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to impose ban cell phones on sidewalks.