Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

Many countries solve their ever-lasting problems just by discussion over their problems. The prompt conveys that during discussions with people having contrasting views will never change their mindset when they were questioned about their core beliefs and however, the statement does not hold true for all people. I will agree to the prompt and "I will not waste my energy on discussions with those with contrasting views after realizing that their points are invalid or irrelevant or misleading" and I will explain them in the following two paragraphs

Firstly, few people are narrow-minded and not patient enough to at least listen to other's points of view. This is because they are submerged into their own core beliefs and they are not ready to change their minds even though their beliefs are incorrect and it does not make any sense. For instance, I have a friend and he is against equality between men and women and he strongly believes women are meant for childbearing and to cook for him and till now his belief is unchanged because of his adamant mind-set. One possible reason for their behavior is the environment they are born and brought up and they might get this belief because of their upbringing

or they were thought of this idea by their parents or friends.

Secondly, there are a few sets of people who will realize that they were wrong in their ideology and beliefs but they strongly assume that is a matter of their pride if they change their mind during the discussions involving controversial topics. For example, a group of friends starts talking about a controversial subject and two people realized that their point of view is entirely wrong and misleading and one of the people among these two realized his mistake and corrected himself and the remaining person felt ashamed and started distracting the conversation just to make sure that others should not recognize that his beliefs were wrong. Due to the factors of sense of pride and self-satisfaction of not loosing in front of other people are not ready to change their beliefs.

So finally, It can be inferred from the above paragraphs, that it is unlikely to expect healthy discussions among people who are not open to conversations involving contrasting views and many people does not change their mind even though their beliefs are incorrect and it is not true for of everyone.