Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantageous and disadvantageous of solar energy?

There are multiple forms of energy – wind energy, solar energy, nuclear energy and, so on. Solar energy is a form of an energy where light from the sun is converted into electrical energy. In recent times, many countries are adopting solar energy as an alternative source for electricity. The popularity of solar energy is due to its efficiency and it is economic compared to other forms of energy. The next two paragraphs will discuss about advantages and disadvantages of solar energy.

The obvious reason for the large scale utilization of solar energy is its advantages such as, no need to pay electricity bills for lifetime. That is, we can avoid paying electricity bills, once we install solar energy water heater and electricity generator and it can be supply electricity for all the household needs. Two years back, I have installed solar energy in my house and from that day to today, no electricity bill is generated to my house, because solar energy is providing me all the energy required to run electronic gadgets in my house. Another major disadvantage is easy to install and it requires sun light to generate electricity. Since sun light is abundant, generation of electricity is a simple process. Maintaining solar equipments are easy and it won’t take much human effort.

Turning to the other side, solar energy has some drawbacks, first and foremost is initial investment cost is very high and it is difficult for economically challenged families to equipped with solar energy equipments. Other than cost the location of the solar energy plant should be directly placed where sun light is abundant. Solar energy instruments are of no use in case of the absence of sunlight and it requires more space for the installation and few houses may not have sufficient place to fit these solar devices. One of my friend’s family decided to install solar water heater on the roof top of their house, but due to space constraint, they couldn’t install it and the vendors of solar energy had strict no refund policy, because of this policy they suffered huge loss.

In conclusion, despite of the disadvantages of solar energy, People across the county are interested in solar energy devices and because of this reason it is becoming popular all over the world. In the opinion of the peoples, it is one of the best forms of energy which is also economical.