The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

The petition says that an increased case of 'sidewalk rage' has caused problems to the city and believe that by passing a ban on mobile usage on sidewalks would decrease these problems. I believe the passage has three fallacies, which I will explore in the following essay.

First fallacy, the author of the petition doesn't provide adequate information to compare and contrast between Centerville and Middletown so to come to a conclusion. The author assumes that population, awareness and other factors are the same in both places which might not be the case. Thus if the author had provided more information on both places, then he would have had a stronger stance in saying that a ban in Centerville would be as effective as the ban in the Middletown.

The second fallacy, the author states that banning cell phone usage on sidewalks is the only way to reduce the growing problem. An alternative way to reduce such problems would be conducting townhall sessions or seminars focused more on how cell phones are to be used when walking on sidewalks. Thus if the author had suggested more solutions like the above, then the petition would look more appealing rather than demanding.

Third fallacy, the author attributes assaults, property damage and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic to 'sidewalk rage', leaving out other factors affecting these problems. The factors include the crime rate, public awareness, etc. If the author had provided the above information and then finally came to a consensus that if we try to control on such factors like sidewalk rage we could eventually curb most problems.

In conclusion, by examining the various angles and factors involved with the petition proposed to the city council of Centerville, the arguments do not address the above fallacies. While the petition has some possibility, it does need more information as suggested above.