Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

While there are some parents who believe in forbidding young children owning smart phones, there are others who believe it is an important tool to keep in touch. Personally, I believe that parents should forbid young children from owning a smart phone. I feel this way for three reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First reason, there are other ways to keep in touch with young children which requires less maintainance. For instance the use of smart watches with cellular network would be ideal for children as it would not only help in keeping track of the child but also the child's health. Moreover these smart watches can also help in making or recieving calls thus fulfiing the parent's desire to keep in touch.

Second reason, we cannot assume that every child would be careful and responsible with a smart phone as it is an age of being naughty, free spirited and aloof of any responsibility. For example we cannot expect a 6 year old to be responsible about a phone while she herself needs careful attention. On top of it the cost associated to phone if it is lost or damaged by the child would be expensive.

Third reason, the children wouldn't be able to identify malicious calls or messages which could further be dangerous for them as hackers and child predators would be able to keep track of them. This again leads to various unnecessary problems that parents wouldn't want to burden the child and themselves with.

In conclusion I am of the opinion that it is prudent of parent's to forbid young children from owning smart phones. This is because there are others ways to keep in touch of children, children wouldn't be responsible with expensive smart phones and they wouldn't have the knowledge of hackers or other malicious activities.