Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

It is not useful to discuss controversial topics with people of contrasting views as very few change their mind when questioned about their beliefs. Personally I believe that it is not useful to discuss controversial topics with these kind of people. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, people are raised or brought up with certain principles or beliefs that shape their character. These beliefs act as their character's foundational building block so changing their mindset when questioning about their core beliefs would be difficult or close to impossible. This is because they would do everything in their power to justify as to why their beliefs still hold good so to not have an identity crisis. For instance, we can see that people belonging to early 1900's have the view that woman are only meant for household work but when asked to change their perception about this view, they would be stubborn and adamant on not changing the view.

Secondly, people don't tend change their mindset on certain beliefs which was constructed by traumatic experiences. This is because every-time they talk about these beliefs, respective traumatic experience plays in their mind not allowing them to have an optimistic or an open mind towards a discussion. For instance, a terrorist attack in USA made Americans to have the perception that all muslims are terrorists.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that controversial topics shouldn't be discussed with people of contrasting views.This is because people don't tend to change their ideas or beliefs with which they brought up with as it is an integral part of their character, and because beliefs linked with traumatic experiences are hard to change.