The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The following argument is flawed for the following reasons. Primarily would be assuming change of butter to margarine is the cause for customer satisfaction. The argument coming to a conclusion based fully on a server's analysis. Lastly, not providing the references to sources from which the numbers and percentages could be backed up by.

First fallacy observed was, assuming change of butter by margarine was the reason that only few complained and the rest were happy. It could be due to various other factors such as the restaurants ambience being better, the staff providing excellent hospitality. If the above information had been given then the argument would have a stronger stance.

Second fallacy observed was, trusting the server's report, that customers don't mind when margarine is given instead of butter due to which argument comes to a conclusion that customers can't differentiate between them. Servers shouldn't be the only means through which they decide the behavior of the customers, rather the restaurant should have backed it up with an one on one survey wherein relevant questions could be asked about conclusions made. Thus by doing so the argument would have been more appealing.

Third fallacy observed was, the percentages and numbers given in the argument are not referenced to any source thereby making it baseless. There is no valid source given to prove that only 100 people had come to the restaurant. Assuming that only 100 did come , there might be cases where customers just wander around the restaurant and leave without actually caring about butter or margarine. Information about the different types of people that came into the restaurant would help in giving the required weightage to the facts shown in the argument.

Thus the argument is flawed by various fallacies mentioned above. The argument would have made a compelling case if it were to carry out some of the suggestions provided under each fallacy.