The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument is about the replacement of butter with margarine. It is said that only 2 percent of customers have complained about this subject, and consequently, 98 percent of them are satisfied. At first glance, it seems the argument is acceptable but with an accurate look, we can see that it has some weaknesses.

Firstly, the manager has failed to provide some accurate statistical figures about the satisfaction of customers from this replacement. He only has said that 2 percent of them had been unsatisfied. How did he find this figure? What method has used for this research? Are they sure that their method is correct? Have they asked all of their customers about the replacement of butter with margarine? Are they sure that all customers have given their comments about this replacement? According to the figure mentioned above, we cannot say that surly 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change.

Are they sure that their customers know about the difference between the types of butter? To strengthen their argument, they have to categorize their customers. For example, customers who like the previous butter, customers who prefer margarine and customers who are indifferent to this subject. Then they have to analyze the number of each group and then decide based on the results.

The conclusion only based on the figures mentioned above is not reliable. They also have to consider that 2 percent of people who have complained about this change belongs to what group of their customers. If they belong to their loyal customers, they have to consider a better strategy to deal with this problem.