Claim: Any piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future.

Reason: Much of the information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate.

It is said that facts related to different subjects should not be trusted because it may be proved that they are not true in the future. people should mistrust any piece of information, just because it might be incorrect in the future. I disagree with this point of view.

Facts are those that help us in the exploration of the world. Knowing about this world is impossible without these facts. Facts might be proven to be incorrect in the future but in their own time, they should be accepted because they are passed from many tests to be considered as a fact. There is no way of rejecting facts in a short time. Therefore, based on the needs, facts will change. However, in the present time, facts should be assumed correct, otherwise, the world will not move on. Most of the facts are a result of researches done by researchers. Because scientists go through the hard work to establish facts, the facts cannot be completely denied. In addition to this, researches are done to provide a new phenomenon to the world. They do not need to be correct all the time. Most of them can meet the needs of people at the desired time. I believe that the facts presented by researchers should be accepted until convincing evidence is provided to reject them. This is because the facts are analyzed by eminent professors. Facts carry a lot of meanings and are useful for the world. For example, Pluto was considered as an alternative planet for a living for many years. This subject was a fact for many years until recently scientists found that Pluto did not have the necessary criteria for living, and now Mars is considered as a second planet and is under the supervision of researchers.

We have to consider that researchers always try to present right facts. However, they are also human and they may make mistakes. Because of this, the different theories are checked by various researchers and experts, and they are either developed or rejected. Expert people also may make errors because of different reasons such as lack enough knowledge or facilities. Additionally, if we want to consider facts always wrong, we will not be able to have innovation. For example, if we consider the Pythagorean theorem incorrect or if we assume the invention of pi in math is baseless, we cannot do any deep researches in math. Therefore, for progress in the future, we have to consider many facts true at present.

Sometimes the theory of scientists at present to be considered wrong but in the future, the others find it correct. For instance, the theory of Galileo that the Earth is round and rotates around the sun. In the time of Galileo, this theory seemed to be incorrect but, in the future, it was proven that Galileo’s theory was correct and helped to many types of research.

To summarize, in my view facts should be considered true in their own time until it is proved that they are incorrect.