Issue:

Claim: Any piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future.

Reason: Much of the information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate.

The given claim that any piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future is justified with a reason that much of the information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate. I think the assumption behind this claim and reason is that the world has witnessed many such fact which were proven false with the time. In past people used to believe that the sun and other planet revolve around the earth but it was proven wrong. Similarly in the past people use to believe that the cause of illness was the curse of God but it was also proven false. There are numerous example in the womb of past which make us believe that the fact should not be believed unless detail study is conducted on the fact because there is potential to be proven false in future.

Any piece of information that is referred as fact has equal potential to be true or to be false. In the past the sun revolves round the earth was a fact for a people which they were believing from long time. When Galileo put forward the fact that it was the earth who revolves round the sun, the church and people were against him. But Galileo was proven right in later time. Similarly, people used to believe that the reason behind illness was the curse of god. But when microorganism causing disease were observed, the fact was replaced by new fact. During the Wright brother time, people cannot fly in air like a bird was a fact but it was proved wrong by the invention of airplane. Thus the fact should not be believed as true unless a detail information is available in it.

Any fact provided cannot be taken completely true in any field. The fact that is true for the present can be proven false in future.