Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible.

Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a longer time. Which

of these situations do you think is better? Use specific reasons and examples

to support your opinion. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use

memorized examples.

The worth of independence desired by young adults depend on their intention behind such demand. Independence, if it is considered as being self-dependent, is propitious and leads to growth and development. However, if it is perceived as a freedom devoid of responsibilities, it might result in counterintuitive outcomes Therefore, the very concept of independence inscribed in the thought process determines its moment. The importuned independence can be productive for some while the opposite for others, depending on one's reason for the demand.

A friend of mine held the reputation of being notorious and frivolous. His parents were highly concerned about his present and future. They were stringent towards his aberrant behavior, which he disliked. He grew up amassing hostility and animosity towards his parents and always demanded independence from family so that he could revel his life in his way. Eventually, as their wit and grit didn't work on him, they conceded; he was set free to live his way. The result wasn't unpredictable; he ended up with drinks, drugs and vandalism. Last month, he was arrested for extortion. His parents bailed him and now he is in the rehabilitation center. The independence he desired produced the opposite results.

In contrast to the above example, another friend of mine established her as a successful entrepreneur of the city within a couple of years of leading an independent life. It was obvious to her that sudden release of family support would invite hardships and travail, and she was prepared with a plan to overcome it. The independence allowed her to focus on her career needs and the hardships, in turn, buttressed her to stand the tribulations with imperturbable determination and enthusiasm. As a consequence, surviving through a series of throes and opportunities, she established herself to a position, which today not just provides jobs to others but also supports her family.

It is evident from the above two examples that the justification of independence depends on subjective issues. If independence is desideratum for concentration in goals, to harness the potential and learn from independent efforts, it is very worthy. Instead, if it is desired as a release from parental supervision to live in unguided free will, the probability to be benighted to debauchery and career crash can't be denied.