The issue is based on the ideal that competition deters productivity and cooperation enhances the human performance. However, being integral part of the human psychology; competition and cooperation, both are inevitable in our behavior. As human is a gregarious being, and our society is based on mutual development, cooperation is required before competition. Cooperation always aids in the growth of an individual and people around him, however, competition does the same only when it is devoid of hostility and begrudgeness. Thus, it can be the best to prepare the young people for leadership by instilling in them a sense of both cooperation and healthy competition and censoring bitter competition.

The leaders, in every fields, industry to government, have the responsibility to address the problems of and decide for the larger mass. If the leader isn't inclusive, sagacious and free of vanity, decision made by him can be jaundiced and thus, precipitate breach of trust, result in discontented people and vicissitude. No single being is perfect and has all knowledge and conscience to make the best decision. Rather, the best and accepted results are obtained when one functions by cooperation. It ensures mutual growth and benifit. People in various fields have contributed to the society by their mutuality. The cooperation of Madam Curie and her husband, both are noble laurates, produced greatest discoveries. Cooperation and conilliation between political leaders, based on the principle of mutual acceptance, has solved many dissensions and conflicts around the world. In Nepal, cooperation between Maoists, the armed rebels, and the democratic forces ended the decade long conflict in the nation. Here, the principal of cooperation saved thousands of lives and established peace. Therefore, the young people must, primarily, assimilate the principle of cooperation while dealing with the other human being.

However, there are many instances when the attempt of cooperation fails and competition provides the best results. Hiltler, the egregious dictator, couldn't be mollified by the principle of cooperation. United States had to race in the competition of acquiring the nuclear weapon before he did; to ensure the protection of myriad lives around the world. Had the political leadership relied only on cooperation, the results would have been devastating. Careful judgement of the situation in hand, and following the suitable course of action is the desideratum of good leader.

Therefore, the young people should be taught the puissant of cooperation before competition. However, they must be taught the necessity of competition, after the attempt of cooperation fails; but in either case the mind of the leader being centered in probity and benevolence for noble cause.