The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"WWAC must change from its current rock-music format because the number of listeners has been declining, even though the population in our listening area has been growing. The population growth has resulted mainly from people moving to our area after their retirement, and we must make listeners of these new residents. But they seem to have limited interest in music: several local stores selling recorded music have recently closed. Therefore, just changing to another kind of music is not going to increase our audience. Instead, we should adopt a news-and-talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The manager of WWAC radio station asserts the cause for the decline in the number of listeners to the current broadcast of rock-music format and assumes that adoption of the news-and-talk programs will solve the problem. However, this memorandum is rife with dubious assumptions and raises important questions on the inferences. Scrutinizing these assumptions will aid in the examination of the argument.

Firstly, the manager fails to provide the time data since when the listeners started decreasing. Missing facts on the temporal relation of rock-music popularity with the decline in listeners appear to be one among many fallacies. Similarly, it is also equally necessary to examine other possible factors that might have led to the decline. Start of the broadcast of a new radio station in the area might have diverted the audience of the WWAC radio station. It is also probable that the major audience base of the radio has shifted to television. Without analyzing the data on sales of television and the popularity of TV channels in that area, it can be faulty to consider the manager’s argument.

Secondly, the manager asserts that the population of the area is increasing and it is mainly due to the influx of retirement population. His above claim about the reduced number of listeners appears to be based on the assumption that retired people don’t prefer rock-music format. However, he presents no evidence to buttress this position. The rock-music might be equally preferred by the retired people as well. However, he fails to evince whether those people stay with their family. If there are young members migrating with the head of the family in the retirement plan, the manager’s assumption weakens his own claim.

Thirdly, he states that local stores selling recorded music have recently closed. In the contrary, with the recent access to the online media and music websites, the listeners might have begrudged to pay for the compact discs. Rather than changing the current program format, the manager might consider upgrading the current broadcasting form to online, so that the wider range of audience can be covered.

Fourthly, the manager predicts that adoption of the news-and-talk format will solve the problem. He also states this form as popular in the area. Before arriving at this conclusion, he might consider studying the status of listeners in the areas where this format is featured. Otherwise, it might be too quick to make such adoption and might lead to a further decrease in the number of listeners.

From the above contemplation, it is limpid that the memorandum from the manager is stuffed with fallacies and needs further evidence, supporting information and careful examination of the facts before recommending any change to the current program format of the radio station.