It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Although human shares the similar biological system with other members of the animal kingdom, the reason for the ascendency of human is superior intelligence that led to gregarious behavior, sense of common identity and mutual improvement through coöperation. Different human civilizations originated and prospered in various geographical situations; each acquiring unique cultural attributes according to their requirement to thrive in particular nature. The knowledge, perception and ambition of people developed accordingly. Today, the world is composed of many nations, each home to many social groups unique in their cultural attributes. The morality, norms, values, costumes and cuisines, including other cultural characters, are different in different societies. It is these social attributes that shape human psychology from birth to the entire duration of life. The social group, sharing the common belief and goal, is the medium by which a human being identifies himself; his ultimate reality and ambition.

After the birth of a man, every first thing he encounters is determined by the society he is born in. The houses he observes, the food he tastes, the costumes he wears and the language he speaks are all determined by his society. Actually, the family, the unit of society, is often cited as the first school of a child. The perception of right and wrong, the difference of fame and obscurity, the aim of life, are all taught according to the established social values. In fact, eventually these become the identity of the man; the cause for his pride and his distinction from the members of other society.

However, the above argument is often challenged by the recent advancement of telecommunication and transportation facilities; upsurging the idea of the global village and common human identity. The access of human to different parts of the world has undoubtedly increased, but this amalgamation can never result in the homogeneity of societies across the world. It is mandatory to keep into consideration that, the cultural attributes developed according to the climate and environment peculiar to each geography. No crop can be grown throughout the world and no same dress can be worn in different climates of the world. Thus, it leads to a difference in food habit, cuisine and other features of the societies. The knowledge of one society may help the other to improve and advance, but the identity of each always remains different.

While a man gathers information from all around the world, his foundation of decision making is guided by the society he was brought up in. A man from one part of the world is fascinated and intrigued by the other social group nevertheless his heart is enamored with and mind is obsessed with his social identity. The people and rituals around us, in our social group, fundamentally define our behavior, priorities and objectives. It provides us with our meaning, purpose and destination.