It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

most people may feel confused when asked how they define themselves. since as complicated human beings, it is hard to accurately define people just like defining animals or objects. therefore, generally we tend to use evaluation gained from social groups where we belong as labels to define ourselves. While these tags from the outside can partially build up our perception of ourselves, however, as far as I am concerned, this should not be the only way and must be used carefully. In fact, in many cases, such identification from the society plays a disappointing role in self-definition.

Admittedly, it is efficient and simple to use labels of one’s social group that have labeled on it when you want to quickly get a general impression of someone. Besides, it has become common sense for this society. when people want a positive definition of themselves, they tend to gain praise from their social groups. they try their best to get approval or even envy, because only by that can they regard themselves as successful and meaningful. At school, students would study hard to get an A from teachers to prove themselves; in the workplace, some employees would like to work hard and even sacrifice their free time and health to get approval from their colleagues and employers. As we can see, such self-definition as its virtue, since it galvanizes people to chase the predominance and boost the activity throughout the society. In fact, our ultimate ambitions to gain wealth, fame and beauty come from the desire to be recognized by the society.

however when extreme, many side-effects would appear. that is to say, when people only use the social identification as the sole criterion, it sometimes can cause confusion and even destroy our proper definition. On the one hand, sometimes one social group would have an absurd and antediluvian evaluation standard for individuals. For example, in many rare villages in China, where the education resource is dreary and the gender crimination is intensive, ignorance would be considered as a virtue of women, so many parents would preclude girls from studying and let them learn doing housework instead. even if some girls had a desire to read and value knowledge it would be restrained by social norms of the whole group. it would be pathetic if they finally defer to such criterion and become approved women who are good at only being a housewife. therefore, it is extremely necessary not only to cater to social standards, but also to judge whether the external recognition is correct.

On the other hand, the identification with the society groups can be paradoxical and those whose self-definition depend solely on it would always feel uncertain of themselves. because of the diversity of people's thoughts and values, there are also great differences in the identification of a person, sometimes it is even totally opposite. For example, when a student chooses to sacrifice his or her extracurricular activities , they may get praise from her teacher but be disdained by classmates as bookish. such conflicts would cause people who want approval ^ get in a dilemma, which is that no matter how hard they try, they can hardly get the identification they want. if this situation continues, they would be unconfident and finally feel desperate about their life.

having said all this, I don't mean to completely identify with social groups, but to say that we should use it as a supplement to our self-definition. so what is the most important? it is our own mind. being confident is the first step, and such confidence requires a deep perception of this world, a strong and independent ego and the correct establishment of outlook on life and values. Then we can use the labels we get from the outside to timely evaluate ourselves and sometimes we learn from them and make some revision, but most importantly, let your spirit truly define who you are.