People in communities can make decisions that protect and improve the natural environment Which one of the following three actions is most useful for people to do if they want to help the environment in their local community Explain why 1 Plant trees a

Nowadays, people are beginning to attach increasing importance to the natural environment. An issue concerning the best strategy to improve local environment has triggered a heated discussion. On a personal level, I believe that planting trees and creating parks are the best compared with improving public transportation and reducing plastic bags.

To begin with, I understand some people may question my choice. First of all, public transportation may reduce the volume of private cars on roads, which is one of the main causes of air pollution. If more people have a convenient access to public transportation such as subways and buses, the emission of waste gases caused by vehicles, including carbon dioxide and sulfur dioxide, would decline. For another, since the plastic bags are not recyclable and would cost many years to be disposed by nature, they dramatically damage local lands and make them hard for plants to survive.

Reasonable as the above argument seems, in my opinion, it is biased and short-sighted. From my experience, the resources of public transportation are abundant, based on a recent survey showing that a great number of buses are quite empty. Besides, with the development of novel materials, nowadays plastic bags made by environmental-friendly polymers do little harm to the local ecosystem. Above all measures, it is the public's awareness of protecting the environment that matters most. And there is no doubt that plants and parks help to encourage citizens to live a more eco-friendly lifestyle.

To be more specific, people can enjoy their weekends at parks to enjoy the beauty of the nature. For example, I always go to a picnic in a near park with my family. We breathe the fresh air, enjoy the beautiful flowers and listening to birds' joyful songs. Everything there shows us the importance of protecting the nature and makes us pay more attention to our actions which may be harmful to the environment. In this way, we tend to choose buses instead of driving cars when commuting and bring our own bags when shopping instead of using plastic bags. More importantly, trees can improve the air quality by absorbing toxic gases and generating oxygen.

To sum up, I firmly believe that planting trees and building parks are more meaningful in the long run, since they can not only improve the current environment condition but also increase people's awareness of protecting the environment.