Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Nowadays it is not important for people to have regularly family meals together

When it comes to spending time with family, some people argue that nowadays it is not important to have regularly family meals together. However, on a personal level, I quite disagree with it.

To begin with, I understand why people think having meals with family is not vital. First of all, because of the development of public transportation, people tend to live far away from their family members, and even study or work abroad based on globalization. So it is not convenient and will cost much energy as well as money to have meals with family. Secondly, thanks to advanced social technologies such as Facetime, people are able to talk with their family everywhere at any time regardless of their distance. In that case, the necessity for a family to gather and have meals are becoming less, not to mention that most people are too occupied to visit their parents.

Understandable as the above argument may seem, in my opinion, it has neglected every drawback of online conversation and has devalued family relationships. For one thing, talking online even with cameras can never totally supplement face-to-face gatherings, especially for family members. Communicating through computers or mobile phones contributes to decreasing people's sincerity. For example, since my university is far away from my home, I tend to talk with my parents through Wechat. But the fact is that I usually lose my patience and finish the conversation very quickly. Since I never regard such talks precious and refuse to discuss some deep thoughts online. For another, phone calls are not able to give me a sense of belonging and only make me feel more lonely.

But when it comes to having meals with my family, it is totally a different picture. In general, we tend to concentrate more on each other, thereby discussing can be more efficient and comfortable. More importantly, it is the best time for family members to get to know each other better in order to build a closer bond. I enjoy having meals with my family, since it is cozy and comfortable, especially with delicious dishes made by my parents. Moreover, it is one of the best ways for me to ease my mind and take a break. No matter how I am confronted with overwhelming pressure, just some warm words from my parents can make me more confident when faced with troubles and difficulties.

As a result, I firmly believe that it is very important to have regularly family meals together.