Do you agree or disagree with the following statement The most important problems affecting our society today could be solved within our lifetime

With the development of the whole society, I quite agree with the statement that the most important existing problems affecting our society can be solved within our lifetime.

To begin with, I have to admit that nowadays there exist many urgent issues worldwide, which have a negative impact on nearly every person regardless of their nation and race. In that case, many people are permissive about the current society even its future, regarding those problems unsolvable forever.

Understandable as they may seem, in my point of view, it lacks a deep understanding of how the whole society works. Since severe problems can occur anytime and anywhere, overcoming them is the reason why the whole society as well as our mankind has existed for so long.

Take the environmental problem as an example, nowadays most countries have been working together on this issue and have made surprising progress. Firstly, in order to reduce the emission of carbon dioxide and toxic gases, many kinds of clean renewable energy such as electricity generated by wind and water power have been invented and dramatically developed through several decades. The point is that they can be alternatives of coal and petroleum, thus reducing air pollution as well as global warming to a large extent. Countless scientists and researchers are still making every effort to further improve the environment with new technologies. Moreover, with the increasing importance the public has attached to the environment, a great deal of people begin to change their lifestyles into more environmental-friendly ones, including reducing driving cars and eating meat. With everyone's efforts worldwide, I firmly believe that this problem will be solved completely in the near future.

Similarly, there are many other important problems that have been improved dramatically. For example, gender discrimination is now declining thanks to the prevalence of advanced values, including freedom and equality. Women now have equal opportunities to receive education compared to males, and people's gender has no longer a factor which can significantly affect their promotion in career. Besides, the criminal ratio is decreasing because of the gradually improved legal system and education system.

To sum up, nothing is impossible if we work together. So I firmly believe the problems affecting us right now will finally be solved within our lifetime.