Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Nature’s Way (NW) stated that opening a new store, selling health food and health-related products, in Plainsville would be lucrative, based on three main facts in this area: 1). The high profit of exercise-related shoes and clothing; 2).the increasing popularity of local health club; and 3). the policy that forced children to participate in a fitness program. Although true, these facts give no evidence to their conclusion.

Firstly, they believe the profit of their products has a high positive correlation to the local popularity of healthy lives, but such a view cannot bear scrutiny. In g...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.