Some people prefer to focus on ambitious dreams while others think realistic goals are more important Which do you prefer and why

Whether young or not, everyone need a dream to chase after. Dreams, just like stars shining in the sky, are symbols motivate us to progress. As for me personally, I prefer to dream practically and make efforts to achieve those realistic goals.

I have to admit that some people would call me coward since they believe every great person should think bigger and make ambitious dreams for their life. In this way, they can pursue greater achievements and finally become the outstanding one in our human history. I also heard a lot such encouraging stories. For example, Jianlin Wang, one of the wealthiest merchants in China, said his first goal is to earn 1 million dollar, which sounded quite crazy and unbelievable. With this ambition and courage, he eventually earn hundreds of billions dollar. As a result, those who are meant to be legendary great men tend to have courage to set unrealistic goals and keep chasing after them.

Reasonable as the above statement seems, in my opinion, it completely neglect the influence of fortune, one of the most import factor for people to succeed. Truth can be frustrating, but we cannot deny that successes of every famous achiever in our history are more or less caused by luck. Just like gambling, you are bold and ambitious, but your ending can be a huge success or a tragedy regardless of how hard you are working on it. Therefore, I firmly believe that it is more practical and safer to set realistic goals and work on them.

My experience is an appealing example of this. When I was 9 years old, my dream was to visit the Mars as an astronaut. Since then, I worked hard on my science class and exercised regularly. However, it turned out that my physical condition could never fulfill the requirements because of the accident at my birth. For this reason, instead of dreaming something unrealistic and chasing after the unachievable goal, I began to dream more practically like being a scientific researcher.

Moreover, I also think ambitious dreams can easily let people stuck into desperate once they find they cannot achieve them. To be more specific, as I said before, every success requires luck, so it is not uncommon to find out that, after a long time of pursuing a goal, every effort has become meaningless simply resulting from lack of fortune or an opportunity.

So In conclusion, based on the above reasons, I am of the position that it is far more meaningful to set realistic goals instead of pushing ourselves too hard.