The way people dresses is a good indication of his or her personality or character

There is a well-known saying: 'do not judge a book by its cover', with which I quite agree. So similarly, I firmly believe we should not judge one's personality by his or her clothes.

To begin with, I understand that some people would argue that clothing styles can reflect individuals' preferences, thereby indicating their inside character. When seeing people with clean and tidy clothes, it is more likely that they are serious and have a positive attitude to their life. And youngsters with trendy clothes are more likely to have stronger sociable skills and outgoing character.

Reasonable as the above argument may seem, in my opinion, it is superficial and lacks a deep understanding of the relation between the inside and the outside of humans. The point is that people are complicated and social animals with rich emotions, which make their choices for clothes be influenced by many other vital factors besides their own characters. For one thing, their commercial situation is quite dominant when purchasing clothes. For example, many young ladies are quite open-minded to accept the latest trend, but because of low incomes they tend to choose cheaper but outdated ones. Can we regard them as stubborn people who refuse novel things? I do not think so. For another thing, the outside environment can be very influential. To be more specific, sometimes we tend to choose similar styles compared with our friends' or family's in order to gain a sense of belonging. In that case, these clothes have nothing to do with our willingness and at least only reflect the features of people close to us.

Furthermore, everyone has the right to choose how they dress up themselves regardless of others' thoughts. People who encourage individuals to judge individuals by their outlooks and clothes have made no positive contribution but only spread prejudgments and biases about some special clothing styles. I can take miniskirts as a perfect example. It is not uncommon that girls with miniskirts are judged by strangers in public since they tend attach some superficial meaning to such clothes, but the fact is that the reason that those girls are wearing them is solely out of the hot wealther. In addition, some thieves usually dress quite appropriately to mislead others.

To sum up, it is biased to judge people by their clothes.