The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station."WWAC must change from its current rock-music format because the number of listeners has been declining, even though the population in our listening area has been growing. The population growth has resulted mainly from people moving to our area after their retirement, and we must make listeners of these new residents. But they seem to have limited interest in music: several local stores selling recorded music have recently closed. Therefore, just changing to another kind of music is not going to increase our audience. Instead, we should adopt a news-and-talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The manager states that wwac should adopt a news-and-talk show format to allure residents into listening the wwac radio station. To support this prompt he provides evidences thatThe number of people listening to the radio station has decreased inspite of an increasing population . In order to streangthen the assumption that the author has made he would have to evaluate various circumstances and as of the argument is serious flawed.

Initially, the manager states that the number of listeners have been decreasing, even though the population of the listening area is increasing. But is that number of significant? For example, if lets assume that currently 1000 people are active listeners of the radio station and 10 stopped following the show ,then the number is very less compared to the people are still following it. hence the manager should provide numerical statistics and should determine whether the decline in the numbers is constant .

he also has the audacity to directly assume that new residents are not interested in rock-music and he concludes this based on the fact that several locality music cd shops have been closed. there Might be other factors responsible that have led to this consequence, the manager simply doesn’t take account the other factors. For instance, due to growing use of internet and mobile phones and various online music platforms, all the people irrespective of the genre of music they are following, are able to access unlimited music free of cost. hence, the popularity of music cds have been declined that led to shop closure. also, the people moving into the area haven’t got enough time to figure out the programs of the radio station, maybe they have moved recently and are busy setting their house and haven’t settled yet.

even if we assume, the new residents aren’t interested in rock music then still there is no guarantee that talk show would entice them into listening to WWCC radio station. Before concluding anything , we must find out the point of interest of these new people and then plan things accordingly. surveys must be carried out among them ,the radio station should be promoted among them.

In conclusion, the argument as of now is flawed and the manager should provide more evidences like the numerical facts, statistics of the trp of radio station. also a survey among the new residents should be carried out to determine their point o interest as by doing so will help anticipate the popularity of the talk show