"In the age of television, reading books is not as important as it once was. People can learn as

much by watching television as they can by reading books."

televisions are today, commonly found in houses, people are most reliable on them to get savvy of the current affairs that are happening day-to-day in the world. The prompt here states ,people can learn as much by watching television as they can by reading books . I mostly agree with the author and argue that we can gain knowledge by viewing television as we can by reading books by providing two illustrations.

Though there are instances in which ,books bestow us more profound knowledge and meticulous little about particular things. Like, one can learn more about physics through reading books, conference papers, articles rather than watching documentaries on channel, most of the times it is also the case that while creating these documentaries or short films much of the content cannot be shown to the viewers as a specific time lot is allotted to these .so there are possibilities that spectators gain only half of the understanding regarding the subject. if one wishes to gain expertise in the particular topic then the person should read books in order to gain mastery.

But in this fast paced world, one wishes to get an immediate apprehension of the course that doesn't need much cramming though it's still useful in day-to-day activities . in such cases, televisions are very useful than reading the tedious books or novels. for instance, suppose an individual wants to learn cooking ,it is very practical to take help of the cooking shows that are broadcasted on the tv channels , not only it saves time but also a tyro can see the visuals of every important steps so that he/she can compare it easily and its also easy to remember the visual representation.

Secondly, current affairs are also necessary to facilitate learning of the a person and obviously on cannot get this information in the books also it is seen that in stock market where the prices of stocks are altered every fraction of second ,it is nearly impossible without the help of television to keep abreast of the volatile market.

In this age of television, both learning through books and tevelsion have equal pros and cons and it actually depends on situation or the subject of learning that which source is important and hence it is difficult to conclude