Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced twenty days with below-average temperatures, and local weather forecasters throughout the region predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because of these developments, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

In the argument stated above the author clearly states that we should invest in Consolidated Industries as it is flourish economically in near future. Home Heating Oil is one the main businesses of Consolidated Industries, the author has concluded that it will become a popular business based on the following evidences; He states that traditionally people of North-American regions have used oil lamps in winter and they will continue to use it even in the future; Moreover, he also assumes that new homes which are built in that area will also continue to use oil lamps. However, before forming any conclusions there are certain points that needs to be addressed that makes this argument weak; these points are elaborated in the following paragraphs.

How many Homes in North Eastern United States still using traditional oil lamps?. It might be possible that a few or handful of homes are still using those traditional oil lamps and many homes have switched to new modern heating techniques which require electricity. If such is the case then oil consumption might not increase, which will weaken the argument stated by the author.

Moving ahead, the author also states that the average winter will increase in coming years and people would prefer oil lamps to keep their houses warm. Even if we assume that people will use those oil lamps, the point here is how many days the lamp would be required to warm the house; because in summer or when the temperature is average ; people wouldn’t prefer oil lamps; for example if winter lasts for 4 months in North Eastern United States then what about the remaining 6 months. Will the profit obtained be enough to sustain those 6 months. Hence the statement concluded by the author that we should invest in XYZ company is weakened.

The Third point that makes this argument weak is, according to the fact stated by author more homes are being built in the North Eastern US . Here the author directly assumes that the new homes would also use traditional oil lamps for keeping their house warm. It might be possible that these homes would use modern eco-friendly insulating techniques which would require electricity rather than oil.

After taking into consideration the above mentioned points the argument is weakened severely. The author should provide more evidence ; how many houses still use oil-lamps, or are the new homes which are to be built would use oil-lamps; which might strengthen the argument.