The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client Homes in the northeastern United States where winters are typically cold have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating Last year that region experienced t

In the memo, the author concludes that his or her client must invest in Consolidate Industries, one of whose main business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil. The author reaches this conclusion based on the fact that homes in the northeastern United States conventionally have used oil as the main source of heating their home and owing to weather prediction by climate forecasters at Waymarsh University that the winters in the following years in this region will be freezing. Moreover, many new homes have been constructed during the past years in this area. Nonetheless, while the conclusion drawn by the writer might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, the author must address the following three questions.

First of all, are the predictions by weather forecasters at Waymarsh University reliable? It is probable that forecasters in this university consist of many students with a lack of proper knowledge or experience in predicting the weather pattern. Also, the published data might be the group project of a course or an industrial project of a professor of which he or she delegates some parts to students who are prone to make mistakes. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the author's assertion that based on the published data by the university, the following winter will be freezing in the area is substantially hampered.

Secondly, are new house builders still in favour of using oil as the main source of heating the house? Traditionally, people in this region have used oil to heat their houses, maybe because other heating sources were unaffordable or incompatible with the design of their homes. The new house-builders might use other sources to warm the buildings, which do not require oil. The argument does not hold water if the above is true.

Finally, what other fields do Consolidate Industries participate in? These industries might work in different areas, most of which are not profitable or make a profit after a long time. Investing in these industries only based on the fact that they produce oil which might be in great need in the future, is not logical. Besides, if other regions in the United States do not use oil to heat their house and the demand for oil in this region reduces in the future, the investors might lose a considerable amount of their money. If it is true that Consolidate Industries' other fields of occupations are not profitable or other regions do not use oil to heat their homes, the credibility of the writer's claim decreases significantly.

To recapitulate, it is possible that investing in Consolidate Industries, one of the business operations of which is the retail sale of home heating oil, will provide the client with a significant amount of money since the frosty weather pattern will be reiterated in the following years in this region, and people living in this region will stick to use of oil as the primary source of heating their homes. Nevertheless, as it stands now, the argument relies on three unanswered questions that render its conclusion unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. Therefore, the author must provide answers to all the abovementioned staple questions.