1. The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The letter claims that a steady decline in the number of shoppers in Central Plaza is due to the dramatic increase in the popularity of skateboarding. However, the assumption is rife with fallacies and lacks sufficient evidence to show the relationship between the business in Central Plaza and skateboarding. Scrutinizing the inferences taken into consideration will aid to examine the given argument.

Firstly, the letter fails to consider enough aspects that might have led to a decrease in the number of shoppers in Central Plaza. The number of shoppers might have reduced due to the opening of new plaza close the Central Plaza. It is also necessary to consider whether the shops of Central Plaza are abreast enough to address the recent demands of their shoppers. The competitiveness of Central Plaza as compared to other market places may be a crucial factor determining its transactions.

Secondly, the letter asserts the rise in popularity of skateboarding but mentions no such increment for the number of skateboards in Central Plaza. Is the claim of the rise in popularity of skateboarding based on some survey data? Has the rise in popularity led to the increment of skateboarders, particularly in the Central Plaza? These inferences lack supporting evidence. Even if we consider the increment in the number of skateboards, it may be a cause for addition in flow of people in Central Plaza, which might, in turn, cause a rise in the number of shoppers.

Thirdly, the rise in the amount of litter and vandalism in the plaza area is wrongly associated with skateboarding. The letter lacks information about the waste management system and security provision of the Central Plaza. The dirtiness and damage of property are probably due to the lax management system of Central Plaza over the past two years.

Finally, the letter predicts that the business of Central Plaza would revive if the city prohibits skateboarding in that area. Rather, the prohibition in skateboarding might result in a decrease in the existing number of shoppers. It might detest to the young shoppers and their influence group. While the argument believes that banning skateboarding might result in serenity, many people who prefer the marketplace to be full of people and colorful activities might abandon shopping in the plaza. There is a strong likelihood of a further decrease in shoppers with the restriction of skateboarding, making the decision counterintuitive.

Therefore, the stated negative correlation between skateboarding and transactions in Central Plaza lacks important evidences. Without further information, the conclusion drawn is infelicitous, and doesn’t support the prediction made.