The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the editorial from the Central plaza owner, it is stated that the city should prohibit skateboarding for the proliferation of the profit in the business of the central plaza. The opponents have come to this conclusion based on the fact that increase the popularity of skateboarding is the primary reason for the decreasing of shoppers in the central plaza as well as due to this, the litter and vandalism of central plaza is increasing dramatically. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

Firstly, is the popularity of skateboarding the only reason for the decreasing numbers of shoppers? Since the past 2 years, the popularity of skateboard is increasing in the city but are the number of shoppers of other plazas in the city also decreasing in the same way as in Central Plaza?. The author prematurely assumes that the popularity of skateboard is the only reason behind the reduction of the shopper's numbers. Maybe, the market is not stable or in the past 2 years other plazas would have opened and this is because some of the shoppers go for shopping there, or the deterioration of the plaza building in past two years might be reason for not attract more number of shoppers and this might be the only reason for skateboarders to choose the vandalised property for skateboarding. If one of the scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, In the argument, it is also stated that litter and vandalism have been increased throughout the Plaza. But the skateboarding is the reason behind this? The author vaguely assumes that litter and vandalisation of Plaza is due to the skateboard. However, this might not be a case. Perhaps the shopowners through the waste of their shops in the plaza or due to not have dustbins in the plaza, shoppers throw the eatables packets in the open plaza. Maybe the owner wants to construct the extra shops in the plaza and so what he vandalise the property and after the decreasing numbers of the shoppers, the construction work would be resumed. If the above is true, the argument does not hold water.

Finally, It is mentioned in the argument that after the prohibition of skateboarding the Business in the central plaza will return to its previously high deeds. But is it sure that it will certainly happen in the future? maybe the sales or recession in the market will hinder the flourish the business of the plaza, the only factor skateboarding is not sufficient to ascertain the business of the plaza. The author should do Research and analysis based on the past two years and then establish the prediction of the increase in the sales of the Plaza. If the reason is not the skateboard or might be sales, recession or saturation in the market then the above argument is not successfully telling us that skateboarding is the only reasons for decreasing the numbers of shoppers and the argument does not water.

In Conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to reliance of several unwarranted assumptions. If the author can answer the three questions above and offer more evidence, then it will be possible to evaluate to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation of the prohibition of skateboarding in the central Plaza.