The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

In the letter from the homeowner, it is stated that if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Reality. The opponents have come to this conclusion based on the facts that Adams Reality has more revenue as well as it has more number of Real estate agents. He also stated that landowner sold his house ten years ago with Fitch, which took four months as compared to Adams that took only one month. However, before this recommendation can be fully properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

Firstly, The author states in the letter that his friend should sell his house with Adams because the revenue is higher as compared to Fitch as well as Adams has 40 Real Estate agents. But is it fair to conclude that the same 40 Real Estate agents will work efficiently in every location?. The home that Landowner sold might have been situated in some posh locality and the Adams generated more revenue because of this. But is this same for every location? Maybe as per the locations changes, rates of property changes, salary of real estate agents changes or other factors like parking area in posh locality would have been added in the revenue. The difference in the revenues of $24000 might be due to the level of customers the companies are dealing with. Maybe, the Adams deals with elite customers and Fitch deals with every category of Customers. Due to this reasons, Fitch might have less numbers of agents and revenue. If either of the above Scenerios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, The landowner sold his home with Adams ten years ago in four months and he sold another one with Fitch last year in one month. In the time difference of nine years ,the land rates must have been changed, or some extra companies must have been come in the market, or some more investors invested in the last nine years. The author is not able to consider these extra factors in evaluating the argument and prematurely assumes that Fitch will have to take four months of time period. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Finally, The Fitch company takes more time i.e. four months. The reasons for more time taken by Fitch may be because of more investigation of property documents, checking out the property physically by real Estate agents and in four months, Fitch do proper scrutinization of its property to avoid any illegal documents by the seller. Maybe, Fitch is taking four Months because it provides fully furnished property to their customers and Adams do not provide these services. Maybe because of this, Adams is taking Four months and Fitch is taking one month. If the above consideration is true, then the customer should sell his property with Fitch for having more security and trust. This is considerably weaken the author argument for sell his friend home with Adams rather than with Fitch.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now , is considerably flawed due the reliance on the several unwarranted assumptions. If the author provide more evidence and can answer the three questions above, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation of sell home with Fitch rather than with Adams.