To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Society is a very diverse and covoluted subject. A lot of little elements like people's behaviour, their economic stature and intrinsic nature form the gears to this very large, well oiled machine we call society. The city or urban area are considered the paramount of progress in a nation. So, i do agree that to understand the characteristics of society, one must study its major cities. The cities are like a culmination of all its societal, cultural and economical elements.

Mumbai is the financial capital of India. Touted the "City of Dreams" by the locals, people from all over India come here in search of job opportunities. Although on the surface the population might seem cosmopolitan and urban, if one takes a closer look, they are sure to find an equal number of rural people. These make up the backbone of the city. Mumbai is prone to flood during the monsoon season. The entire city comes to a grinding standstill. People are stuck in vehicles, on train stations and on the streets. A large population of Mumbai lives in the slums, and most of these lose their residences to flooding. In these times of tumult, the citizens of Mumbai garner their helpfulness and lend a hand to their fellow citizens. We often see people offering their homes as temporary shelter for the stranded. The Gurudwaras (place of worship for the Sikh community) open up their kitchens to the less privileged citizens, serving upto ten thousand meals per day. This helpfulness is often given the sobriquet, "The spirit of Mumbai". It ties in with the larger motto in Indian culture that a guest is like God. So, the essence of the Indian spirit is scene in times of trouble in Mumbai.

China is considered to be at the forefront of industrialism. The Chinese culture gives a lot of importance to puncuality, hard work and discipline. The daily happenings in Beijing, China seem to impersonate these values. Be it the mere sweeper on the street or a shopkeeper, everyone is seen working diligently. Coming to punctuallity, their public transport system exemplify it. Trains arrive at their destination while being accurate to the second. China is a manufacturing hub and many countries, to this day, are left lacking trying to match the quality to cost ratio to their Chinese counterparts. With the world moving towards green energy, the number of electric vehicles have started to increase. Chinese cities like Ghongzhou have upto 80% of electric vehicles among their population. This shows their concern towards growing environmental issues. People respect other people's time and efforts. This is clear from the progress and day to day activities of their cities.

If we're talking cities, then one of the first cities that comes to mind is New York. The hustle and bustle of the streets, people from different countries and cultures working in harmony in this seemingly organized chaos. New York exemplifies the American dream in my opinion, because of the fact that people can come here and fulfill their dreams and passions with no dearth of opportunities. New York is home to Wall Street, the epitome of the capitalistic nature of America. The American spirit welcomes immigrants with open arms, and the city of New York shows us how people from different countries have formed little communities and found a sense of belonging in spite of being in a foreign land. The city radiates some sort of energy that seems to encourage people to hustle. The values of perseverence and oneness shines in New York and exemplifies the spirit of American society at large.

In conclusion, I believe that the cities of a country best characterizes the behaviour of the society at large. With a mix of urban and rural population, it gives us an aggregated experience which help us characterize the society better. The cities are like a medal to the countries proseperity, which it has brought upon itself by applying the values tought within society. So, if you want to soak in the essence of a country, be sure to visit its major cities.