The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter to the editor, It is stated that to reduce the numbers of accidents during the summer seasons, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the numbers of mopeds vechiles to 50 percent. The author has reached to this conclusion based on the facts that mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation in the Balmer Island and the authors states that Seaville town council enforced similar limits on the moped rentals, then the same should also be implemented on the Balmar island. However, before this argument can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

Firstly, is the Seaville's town situation is same as in the Balmar island? Maybe, the Seaville's town council has reduced the limits of mopeds vechiles usage to 50 percent due to some other conditions like pollution, Monoply of vechiles or more traffic jam. The author prematurely assumes that with the reduction of same mopeds vechile in Balmar island as it happened in Seaville will help in the reduction of accidents in Balmar, but he nubulously connects two situtaions of different cities and try to establish the conclusion based on the Seaville town council study, without actually evaluated the real conditions and situation of Balmar island. Further, in the Seaville's island the reduction in the moped accidents happened only in the last year. Maybe,only in the previous year, there might have been increase the number of accidents, the author try to estbalish the decision based on the study of last year reduction data of Serville island. If either of the above scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, The author states that the town council should reduce the numbers from 25 per day to 50 per day.The town Council has decided this 50 per day reduction of mopeds will actually reduce the accidents to 50 percents. Maybe, the same results might be achieved with the reduction of 10 percent or 20 percent-perhaps 5 percent reduction of mopeds vechiles and 10 percent reduction of other vechiles will give the same results. The author has not provided the enough reasons of 50 per day reductions of moped vechiles, if he do so, then the argument sounds more convincing.

Finally, The author assumes that as the moped vechiles serve as a popular form of transportation, the town council should limit the number of moped vechiles. The idea of reduction of moped vechiles sounds vague. What if, instead of reducing the vechiles, the town council should built several roadside pathways to the pedestrains or some other facilities like traffic lights or improvements in the traffic management. The only idea of limiting number of moped vechiles is not establishing the conclusion effectively. Maybe, if the towncouncil provides other facilities as mentioned before, then it is possible to reduce the number of accidents between moped vechiles and pedestrains. If the towncouncil will do so, then the argument does not hold water.

In the conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to reliance on the several unwarranted assumptions. If the author can able to provide more evidences and able to provide the answer of the above three questions, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation of reduction of moped vechiles by 50 perday to redue the accidents between pedestrains and moped vechiles.