The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author has boldly made a claim that imposing stints on the moped rentals will bring down the moped related accidents by 50 percent without due consideration to answers of some of the important questions. I will discuss in the subsequent paragraphs about what questions need to be answered to actually see if author's recommendation is logical and how the anwers to these questions will help evaluate the recommendation.

The author mentions that mopeds are a popular means of tranportation in Balmer Island and reducing the moped rentals to 25 per day for every moped rental service would help reduce the moped accidents by 50 percent. We should first answer the question if the tourists will be using mopeds as well. If tourists do not use mopeds, then implementing the author's recommendation will be futile.

The author recommends to limit the moped rentals to 25 per day which will lead to decrease in moped accidents by 50 percent in Balmer Island as observed in Seaville. The author fails to take note of the number of moped servies in Seaville as compared with Balber Island. The author's claim that the accidents will be reduced by 50 percent will only be corraborated only if there are equal number of moped rental serivces in Balmer Islands and in Seaville. If there happen to be different number of moped rental services in Balmer Island, then the reduction in moped rentals will have to changed accordingly inorder to acheive 50 percent reduction in moped accidents. The author should also note if mopeds are a popular means of transportation in Seaville as well. If the answer is no, then the strategy followed in Seaville to reduce moped related accidents to 50 percent won't work in the case of Balmer Islands.

One other question that needs to answered to see if redcution in moped renatls per company will actually decrease the moped accidents is will the number of moped rental companies remain same or different during summer months? When the author's recommendation is implemented, there is a possibility that the existing rental companies open more new rental companies to overcome the restriction and increase their revenue by manifold. If this happens, then author's suggestion won't have any affect on the number of moped accidents.

We should also look at the traffic regulations in Balmer Islands as compared to that of Seaville. One of the reasons that there is 50 percent reduction in moped related accidents in Seaville after restricting the number of moped rentals could be due to the traffic regulatioins that are imposed in Seaville. The author should also consider the traffic regulations that are followed in Balmer Islands. If there happen to be a large difference in the traffic regulations followed in Balmer Islands and those followed in Seaville, then the author's prediction will definitly be weakened.

As we can see, there are quite a few questions that need be answered in order to actually evaluate if the author's recommendation will produce the claimed results. If the answers to these questions are not in sync with what the author has resumed, then the author is definitely wrong in his/her prediction.