The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Relannian newspaper.

Industry analysts report that the number of dairy farms in Relanna has increased by 25 percent over the last decade. Also, recent innovations in milking technology make it possible for farmers to significantly increase the efficiency of the milking process, allowing them to collect more milk in less time with minimal human intervention. In fact, data from the Relannian Department of Agriculture indicate that labor costs at the majority of Relannian dairy farms are actually lower now than they were ten years ago. Despite increased efficiency and lower labor costs, a carton of cream — a dairy product made from milk — at the local food market costs twice as much as it did two years ago. The only explanation for this dramatic price increase is that farmers are inflating the price of cream to increase their profits.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the letter to the editor, it is stated that the farmers are deliberately inflating the price of a carton of cream available at the local food market to make profits. To bolster the author's claim, he provides three specific shreds of evidence - the number of dairy farms in Relanna has increased by 25 percent, recent advances in the milking technology improves the efficiency by manifold and thereby less human intervention and lastly, the labors in Relanna are lower than it was ten years before. However, there could be alternative explanations that would possibly account for the high cost of cream.

To begin with, the author claims that the number of dairy farms in Relanna has increased by 25 percent. However, though the increase may seem significant at first glance, the author does not provide any information about the actual number. Perhaps, the number of dairy farms in Relanna was less than 5 ten years ago and a 25 percent increase would make it 6 which implies that the number of dairy farms has almost remained static over the past decade. It is fallacious to blatantly consider that this increase would have any substantial effect on the price of the cartoon. Moreover, the author asserts that the labor cost have reduced in the past ten years and again, the author does not provide any information about how much were the costs reduced to or by what amount. Perhaps, the decrease in the labor costs is so inconsequential that the reduction does not have any impact on the costs incurred for making the cream. If either of the alternate explanations has merit, the author's argument will be significantly weekend.

Moreover, the author does not explicitly mention if the local farmers are using advanced milking technology. It could very well be the case that the local farmers have not yet upgraded to the recent technology or they have been not using any technology to aid them in the first place. Since the farmers generally neither make hefty profits nor are they aware of better ROI(Return on Investment) by using advanced technology, they are generally disinclined towards promulgating the use of technology. And hence, though the author argues that newer milking technology reduces the dependency on manpower, perhaps, the farmers in Relanna have not yet adopted such technology which makes them incur the same costs as they did in the past. If this is the scenario in Relanna, the author's argument does not hold water.

Finally, the author spuriously assumes that there are no factors other than what is mentioned in the argument that affect the price of the cream. Perhaps the farmers have been made aware of the blights of the cattle recently and they have to invest to keep their salubrious. Or maybe there has been a significant increase in the price of the fodder over the past years which precludes them from making the cream at low costs. If either of the cases turns out to be true, they would significantly weaken the author's claim that the local farmers are increasing the price of the cream to gain profits.

To recapitulate, one can see that there are quite a few alternate explanations that would justify the high cost of the cream in the local food market and suggest contrary to the author's conclusion.