The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of Butler Manufacturing.

"During the past year, workers at Butler Manufacturing reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. A recent government study reports that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. If we shorten each of our work shifts by one hour, we can improve Butler Manufacturing's safety record by ensuring that our employees are adequately rested."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

As stated in the memo, the vice precident of Butler Manufacturing comes to the conclusion that reducing each work shift by one hour will reduce the number of accidents in the company based on the evidence from nearby Panoply Industries and a study by government that reports fatigue and sleep deprivation among workders are a significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. However, before the recommendation be properly evaluated, one would need the following pieces of evidence.

Firstly, before comparing the number of accidents with nearby Panoply Industries, we should understand the nature of the work carried at both the industries. It is possible that the nature of work at both the industries is markedly different - perhaps the work at Butler Manufacturing involves working alongside fast moving machinery while the work in Panoply Industries involves working with machinery that is easily managable with humans. Futher, there is possibility that work at Butler Manufacturing necessiates workers to be on their toes frequently while the workers in Panoply Industries have a sedantry working style. If either of the scenarios have merit, then the authors recommendation will not have the desired effect.

Secondly, the author anticipates that the workers will be relieved of fatigue by decreasing each shift by one hour by fallaciously assuming the workers will use the given time for taking rest. However, this assumption is a facial, inasmuch as the author does not provide any information about any policy that would entail them to take rest in the provided time. It is possible that the workers would use their extra free time to hang out with their colleagues instead of resting. Moreover, there is a possibility that the worker misutilize their extra free time to carry out some other obligations that they might have. Consequently, the workers will be doing what they are intended to do and thus reducing the shifts by one hour may not prove to fruitful.

Lastly, we should know about the safety protocols that are being followed at Butler Manufacturing. The work at Butler Manufacturing might require high safety standards for the workers to work without sustaining any injuries. It is possible that the accidents at Butler Manufacturing are higher than that of Panoply Industries due the lack of proper safety measures at Butler Manufacturing. In that case, the vice president's argument will be significantly weakened as the accidents will be caused do to lack of adequate safety measures even though the workers take enough rest to subjugate fatigue and sleep deprivation.

Therefore, the argument, as it stands, is unpersuasive as the author does not provide any evidence about the type of work at Butler Manufacturing, whether the workers do actually use their extra free time to take rest or if Butler Manufacturing follows necessary safety protocols for the workers.