In general, people are living longer now. Which of the following do you think accounts for this phenomenon?
Technological improvements
Changes to education systems
Improvements to our diets
Use specific details and examples in your answer. You may choose more than one cause.
It is true that people are living longer in the recent times than a couple of decades
ago. This increase in life can be imputed to technological advances, changes to education
systems and improvements our diets and not just to any one of them.
The following passage will illustrate why all the mentioned factor are important.
First, there has been a drastic imporvments in the technology since 10 to 15 years.
These technological advancements paved the way for break through research in the
fields of biology and medicine. Experiments which were thought to be next to impossible
are being performed whose results provide promising solutions. For example, let us take
the case of microscope. Intitially, when it was first developed, people could
magnify microbes to only a certain extent. But as technology advanced, we developed the
electron microscope which facilitates us to closely see the interactions of viruses with
the immunity system so that we are able to develop vaccines and eradicate diseases.
Second, the literacy rate is increasing at an appreciable pace in the recent times.
The nations around the world have recoginsed the importance of education for the
prosperity of the it's people. Hence, the Goverments are implementing schemes that
make education accessible to even the poorest of the poor. It is thourgh education
that people learn to take wise decisions that can save them in life and death situations
or have better family planning etc.
Finally, the technological advancements and access to education made people realise
the affect of different kinds of food on their biological system. This knowledge helps
them have an healthy diet from an early age. Having an healty diet from an early age is
one of the key factors for a long life. Nowadays, people know which foods can increase
cholestrol levels or which foods aggrevate the problems for diabetic patients.
This knowledge makes people to choose their diet accordingly and lead a healthy lifestyle.
Thus I personally feel that technological advances, changes to education
systems and improvements in our diets play an important role as we are able to do
advanced research, take logical decisions and choose a diet that best benifits.