The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The director proposes to build new dormitories as he/she predicts that the current dormitory space would not suffice based on the current increasing enrollemnt trend, the average off-campus housing cost has increased making it prohibitive to the students, and new dormitories would attract potential students to enroll at Buckingham. Although the argument looks persuasive at first glance, upon further deliberation, on would require further evidence to accede with the director.

First, the dirctor says that the present dormitory space would not be sufficient considering the present rate of growth of enrollments at Buckingham. To see if this reason is credible or not, one should ascertain if the current trend would acutally continue for considerable amount of time. If we find out that the current trend wouldn't change for a considereable amount of time, then there is every reason to implement the director's proposal. However, if there is strong evidence that the current trend would not survive of a considerable amount of time, then there is absolutely no point in implementing the director's proposal.

Second, the director argues that since the average rent for an appartment has increased in the town, it would be a burden for students to stay in off-campus housing and thus, would prefer on-campus dormitories. One would specifically needs to know why has the average housing cost in the town increased? Is it due to increase in premium housing cost which students generally do not prefer? Or is it due to increase in cost of the apartments which students generally prefer? The evidence to these questions would help us evaluate the director's proposal.

Finally, the director, to support his piont, says that new dormitories would attract prospective students. However, one can argue that students generally do not cosider the physical condition of the dormitories to enroll for a college. The variety and quality of courses offered by the college, peer group, job opportunities after graduation, etc are considered more important. In fact, it would not be wrong to claim that the quality of housing is generally given the least importance if a college is realy good at academia and the job opportunities.

Hence, as we can see, we would need evidence to believe that the current enrollment trend would increase for quite some time, the increase in average housing cost is due to the increase in housing cost of apartments that students prefer and the students actual give priority to quality of housing over other parameter in order for the director's proposal to be justified.