college students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interests them rather than the courses that seem more likely to lead to jobs.

As the students prepare for embarking on college education, the first question that comes to their mind is - what course should they persue in college? The decision they take at this point is the one of the most crucial decisions in their lives as it determines the work they do for the rest of their lives. The prompt suggests that students should be induced to choose the course of their own interest rather choosing those which will readily fetch them jobs. I agree with the prompt and feel that they give more priority to their interests for the following reasons.

Firstly, what may seem a job that has high demand at some point may not have the same demand as the time progresses. Thus, to choose a course based solely on high probability of getting a job is to take a short-term perspective, one that will likely backfire. For example, let us take the case of Oil and Gas Industry. Presently, the world mostly runs on oil and gas. These resources are indespensable as they are used as fuel for every machine we can ever imagine. Therefore, one cannot be considered fatuous if he chooses a course related to extraction of oil and gas from earth to secure a job soon after the course. However, will the demand for such jobs will as unchanging as the gravity of the earth? One would answer yes if only is blind to the developments that are taking place presently in the world. We are increasingly turning to renewable sources of energy like solar energy, hydro energy etc. Thus, it is blatant that the demand for jobs related to oil and gas industry will recede as we make more and more progress towards harnessing renewable sources of energy. And those who chose to do those jobs will soon be earning subliminal salary or will be unemployed.

Secondly, even if there are jobs whose demand never ebbs, one should still choose courses based on their interest as fervor for a job plays a vital role in one's happiness. In contrast, if a person pragmatically chooses to do an IT job putting aside his interest for acting, it is guaranteed that he will start vexing about his job. He might go everday to the office only to come back home listlessly in the evening and feeling depressed thinking about what his life would have been had to chose to pay attention to his interests. Thus, it is wise to choose courses based only on interest and not based on external factors like availabity of jobs or the salaries.

However, one might argue that in today's world, there is a proliferation of so many jobs that are in high demand and each student has myriad chooses to choose from. This scenario gives all the more reason to choose fields based on one's interest as they are equally likely to get a job in the field of their interest as well as give their best and feel complacent.

To recapitulate, one should choose a course based on their passion as it is not plausible that a job will poses high demand for eternity and the zealous to do a job plays a vital role on the overall happiness of the person. With the proliferation of high demand jobs in various fields, one will easily find job of their choose and interest.