Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

In today's world, it is almost impossible for someone to work without needing to interact with others. While some of them are a easily amenable, others can be quite unrelenting and highly competative. I feel that in order to be successful leaders in government, industy, or other fields one must have propensity towards cooperating with others for the following reasons.

Firstly, everyone is unique in this world. Everyone comes with their own set of strengths, weaknessess, perspectives, opinions, ideas, advantages and disadvantages. Not all the employees in an office will be on the same page given a proposal. Some of them will be right while others can be wrong about their judgement. But in the end, it is the decision of the leader that would determine the future course of action. Given the myriad opinions, a leader can either have a healthy discussion or debate about the proposals and arrive at a decision in which all the employees feel that they have played their role in decision making process or completely discuont the opinions of others and pursue a task authoritatively. However, the leader is more likely to founder if he chooses the latter path because it is highly likely that he has missed considering important aspects due to limited outlook. On the other hand, if the leader discusses the issues with others,cooperates with them, considers different upsides and downsides of a decision and then arrive at a decision to which all of them agree, everyone will feel content for taking part in running the company as well oblige to comprise if they need. A leader who facilitates and practices cooperation with others will be venerated by all of the followers and they strive to make that person as successful as possible. Hence, to be successful leader, on must be willing to cooperate with others.

Secondly, only through cooperation will the people with varied opinions come together to work for a common cause. Instead, if their opinions are disregarded, they would show little interest in doing the work they are assignd. Such tepid behavior of his employees will not help a leader accomplish much and it will only lead to downfall of a leader ultimately. In contrast, if a leader cooperates with his employees and arrive at commmon consensus, the employees will be ebullient in doing the tasks given to the and the leader can make sure that they achieve great heights collectively. This practice is not just limited to a company but is applicable to almost all the fields ranging from politics, reseaches to arts.

However, there are a few exceptions which cannot be overlooked in this discussion. For instance, take the Example of Steve Jobs, one can argue the his company, Apple, would be were it is today if not for his competitve atitude. However, one cannot find no more than a handful of such cases.

Hence, to be a successfull leader, one has to be cooperative with others.