Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Nations in the world govern based on certain laws. The governments of different nations also stipulate laws for the citizens to be followed diligently keeping in mind the wellfare of their citizens. The prompt suggests that the people in a society has an obligation to follow only just laws and renounce and denounce unjust laws. I don't agree with the promt and feel that all laws should be followed assiduously for the following reasons.

Firstly, laws in a country play a vital role in the progress of a nation. Laws are made and passed by a government to ensure harmony in the society, to protect the rights of the under privileged or for the safety of the people as a whole. Laws are passed only when there is a desideratum for them as the government may not be able to acheive its intended goal otherwise. To emphasize, laws are not passed for sake of pretending that the government is working or to place burden on the commonman. There will be a rationale behind every law and it should be the duty of every citizen to each law studiously. This way, the government can ensure justice to a section of people if there is injustice being caused to that particular sectoin of people interms of racial descrimination, pecunary descrimination, gender descrimination, etc. While some laws ensure that people of different cultures and myriad diversities leave in congruous relationships without causing any dissonance, other laws ensure public safety such a traffic rules. Thus, it is apparent that laws form an indespensable part of our lives, whether we like them or, have to be followed for the sake of ourselves as well as for the sake of others.

Secondly, if the people have the responsibility to follow only just laws and reprehend ujust laws, an important question arises. Who will be deciding what are just laws and what are not? In a scenario where people have the latitude to diffrentiate just laws from unjust laws, there is every possibility people treat them with intrinsic biasness. This predilection inherent in the people will make them falsely classify some laws as just and other laws as unjust. What a law seems just to a group of people may not seem the same to another group of people. As we can blatantly see, such a situation can give rise to discord betweent the people and eventually to a melee.

Some might argue that in places run by autocrates, there will definitely be just laws as well as unjust laws. In such a situation, yes, the society should expostulate unjust laws while adhering only to the just laws. However, if the society runs on democracy, it is imperative that all laws are followed without any exception as such governments takes into account the well being of the whole nation.

To recapitulate, it should be the incumbency of the people of a society to follow all laws as they are made for a purpose but not encumber the lives of the people. If following the laws is left to the discretion of the people, it is sure to cause pandenomium in the society.