Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Young people enjoy life more than older people do.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own

words. Do not use memorized examples.

In the present world, younger people feel that they are enjoying life more than the older people as they go out for parties every weekend, hangout with friends and earn more than the older people did when they were younger. I personally feel that older people enjoy life more than younger people do. I feel this way for the reasons that will be explained in the following passage.

First, let me define what enjoyment means. Is it going to the pub every weekend and dance like hell? Or is it having a peaceful state of mind everyday? I agree with the second statement. In today’s world, young people have hectic weekdays due to professional careers. Young people run against time every single day to make their mark on the world. This rat race puts on them an immense pressure which they plan to get rid of during weekends. Once the weekend is over, they are back in the game. Older people, on the other hand, lead a normal and halcyon life almost everyday. This helps them to feel life to its fullest.

Second, the older people have fewer responsibilities than the younger people. They will have fulfilled their duties as a child: studied hard to gain a better job, as a youngster: strived hard to survive in the competitive world and as a parent: dutifully looking after their family. Consequently, they would have a lot of spare time to take their dog for a walk, to play around with their grandchildren and spend some fun time with their peer groups. Most importantly, they are mindful only of the present unlike younger people who spend quite a lot of time regretting for the past mistakes and planning for the future.

In this context, I would like to quote an example from the community that I live in. Everyday, I see young people, including myself, rushing through every second of the day right from waking up early in the morning, going to the gym, getting their children ready if they have one, rushing to the workplace and then coming back home late in the night and getting ready for next hectic day. On the opposite end of the spectrum, I see older people taking their own time to wake up, spend some quality time with family and grandchildren, go out to the community library, have evening walks with peers and come back home as happy people.

Thus, the older people enjoy life more than younger people do as they are not in the rate race to compete with the world and they have fewer requirements and responsibilities than the younger people.