The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But 80 percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The president recommends that they uphold their century-old tradtion of all-female education rather than amending it to allow men into its programs. His recommendation is based on the results of a survey conducted by the student government as well as predilection of over half of the alumnae to continue all-female educaion. However, the president seems to base his argument on unwarrented assumptions which can render the argument flimsy.

Firstly, the president mentions that over 80 percent of the students in a survey supported all-female education rather coeducation. The president fallaciously assumes that 80 percent is a very high number and hence, take their opinion into consideration. However, this can be an unsubstantiated assumption, in as much as the president does not give the exact number of participants in the survey. It is possible that there are around 1000 students in the college and only 10 of them participated in that survery. In such a scenario, 80 percent would give 8 students which a paltry number given the strength of the collge. If this turns out to be true, then the presidents argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the president mentions that in another survey, over half of the alumnae supported all-female education. The president prematurely assumes the opinion of other half of the almunae does not count. If the president only considers the opinion of those almunae who repsondedly positively for all-female and ignores the opinion of the other half, he may run into to the trouble of losing financial support from the other half. If this turns out to be true, then the president's claim that they will have enough financial support from the alumnae will not hold water.

Finally, the president discounts the opinion of the majority of the faculty members by assuming that the students are better in making judicious decisions for themselves than the highly experienced facutly.

The majority of the faculty members are inclinced towards coeducatioin may be because they feel that such a system would succor overall development of both genders. In a classroom discussions, students get to listened to different perspecitves which the students would not have otherwise. If such is the intention of the faculty members for their proclivity for coeducation, then the president's recommendation would actually prove to be malevolent to the students in all-female classrooms.

All in all, the argument, as it stands, is unpursuasive as it rest on a series of substantiated assumptions such as - 80 percent of the students is a good number to continue all-female education, the financial support from the other half of almunae is not affected and last but not the least, faculty members are not prudent enough to make decisions for the students.