Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In today's world, with easy access to different forms of media and enhanced capabilities to capture and mete information, people tend to get enamored by watching famous people from multidue of fields they witness. Ironically, the same meida and the coverage have the potential to damage the reputation of the famous people. The prompt suggests that it is no longer possible for a society to regard any person as their role model because any person subjucted to immense scrutiny will succumb to infamy. However, I personally feel that this is not true in all case and one should not generalise this trend acorss various fields.

To begin with, during the birth of television and various forms of media through which people get to know about different personalities, there was not much information available about the personal lives of the famous personalities. This is in part due to the limited capabilities of the media networks at that time or the public not showing much interest in knowing their role models more personally. However, with the advent of the internet, the power of broadcasting information is endowed to each and every individual who has access to it and consequently, people who are in close proximity of the famous personalities are able to put thier experiences with with them on the internet. Moreover, the media networks have also became capable of closely scrutinizing the lives of the people whom the public considers as their role models. Thus, we see on a daily basis, famous people getting caught in a scandal or they tend to have a defiled past that tarnishs their present. After being exposed such aspersions, the public suddenly starts to consider them as nondescript. This will eventually diminish the image of the role models and the reason quoted in the prompt looks credible.

However, this cannot be generalized to every field. It is true that the image of politicians and film actors is damaged due to such meticulous scrutiny. In contarst, there are ceratin fields, namely - Education, Scientific Research, etc that do not fall prey to such scrutinies. For instance, let us take the example of Astro-Physics. Stephen Hawking is considered as the best researcher in the field of Astro-Physics. No matter how deeply one delves into his personal and social life, and try to search for fallacies, there is absolutely no way one can find any flaws in his demeanor. Thus, he will always continue to be a role model who aspire to become researchers in his field. As we can see, the reason cited in the prompt is significanlty weakened when one considers the above example.

To recapitulate, the reason stated in the prompt does not apply to all the fields. It is more often than not that the stated reason applies to fields like politics, films etc. However, as stated above the reasons seems to not have much weight when it comes to fields like Research, Education etc.