Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Great leaders are essential for the the betterment of any society. They are the single most powerful people in any society who can impact the lives of an entire nation to a great extent. One of the very important qualities of any leader is the resolution to achieve something. The prompt suggetst that whimsical leader who are affected by shifts in public opinion can achieve little. I agree with the prompt and feel that the leaders who change with the variations in the public opinion can bring insubstantial changes in the society for the following reasons.

Firstly, in this world where most of the nations govern in the form a bureaucarcy, it can can take a prodigious amount of time to bring about any change in the society. Sometimes, one can actually lose sight of where some change or process has actually started given the amount of time taken to actually bring the change. Leaders, upon concensus with various stakeholders, groups and counterparts, take decisions to alleviate the lives of an entire nation. Once a decision has been finalised, it has to be made into form of a bill to get approval of the senate memebers which is tedious process that involves lobbying, debates and consumes a gargantuan amount of time. It is another whole new process for the bill to get implemented after approval by the senate. As one can, it is quite a cumbersome and tedious process involving many people to bring a change in a society. If a leader is fickle minded and changes his/her decision based on the changes in the opinion in the public, the processes that have been started previously should be terminated and start a whole new process for the new decision. This way, there is not just waste in the time but also the progress of a nation is hindered. Thus, a leader with temperamental issues cannot accomplish much in terms of the progress of the nation.

Secondly, a leader who changes decisions based on the shifts in the popular opinion will lose credibility in the long run. A leader should be judicious and display foresight in making decisions. He/she should also be didactic in providing prudent guidance to the people they serve. The opinion of the public dependents on various factors like - their education level, various news headlines they read in their daily lives or on the propaganda of demogogues. It is the duty of a leader to winnow the opinions among the public and provide them with what is beneficial for them. Instead, if the leader tries to cede to every decision of the public, it is plausbile that the leader will not be considere wise and eventually will be considered as inept in bringing about any change in the public. Thus, a leader who does not show ingenuity in taking the decisions will not be taken seriously and will be overthrown.

However, in the realms of our discussion, there can be an exception that cannot be overlooked. Sometimes, situations may arise that mandate immediate change in the course of action that a nation takes. One such example is the impact of Coronavirus on the world. The leaders of the world had to immediately yield to the wish of the people and impose lockdowns to control the pandemic.

Therefore, a leader who changes decisions based on the variations in the public opinion can achieve little as it takes a lot of time to bring any change in a society and he/she will be subverted eventually due to lack of sound judgement in taking decisions.