Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The topic raises a controversial issue of whether a leader who generally gets influenced by others' opinions will accomplish little. Indisputably, there are several examples of leaders who listened to more logical opinions and achieved success. Nevertheless, I would mostly agree with the prompt that a leader's accomplishments will be little if he/she is influenced by shifts in popular opinion.

First of all, leaders who change their focus from developing the country based on what others say will not achieve desirable success. Because no one can make all the people satisfied with his works, there will always be some people who will criticize the whole idea. For example, when Sheikh Hasina, the prime minister of Bangladesh, took the decision to build the Padma Bridge, opposition leaders and several pessimists predicted that it will not be possible to construct the bridge over the river, which is known for its decimation. She, however, refused to opt for others' opinions and took the risk of constructing the bridge, and finally, she successfully completed it. If she had listened to others, she would not have accomplished the success.

Furthermore, she also declared in her election manifesto that if her party wins, they will provide a 24/7 power supply to all the citizens; as a result, she planned to build a nuclear power plant, which, according to the builders, is environmentally safe. But, environmentalists went south with this decision of building the power plant, adding that it will not help the people but rather lead the whole living beings to a cataclysm. However, in the end, she again proudly completed the project and ensured a 100 percent power supply to all the inhabitants. Therefore, if she then was influenced capriciously by others' remarks, it would be possible to keep her promise.

Admittedly, it is always not true that listening to others' productive opinions and carrying out these is detrimental. For instance, if a government wants to supersede an abandoned forest by building an economic zone, but environmentalists and other concerned people contradict the idea, rather suggest renovating the zone with a zoo, resulting in producing less carbon dioxide that is the primary cause of escalating the earth's temperature and increasing visitors, which leads to profit. In this scenario, if the government listens to this recommendation, it will not be a negligible accomplishment, instead, citizens will accolade the government.

In conclusion, although in some cases influenced by others' opinions may result in a successful, in most cases a leader will not be able to achieve his/her goal and thus will accomplish little. So, leaders should be focused on their aim and listened to those recommendations which are actually innocuous for the country and its citizens.