Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for t

When one thinks about the definition of a leader, the first thing that might come to mind is an ability of this individual to lead and influence others surrounding him or her. Undoubtedly, everyone has their own imagination about this term. However, most of the time people either describe a leader as a strong-minded person who is able not only to defend his own position on any specific topic but also convince others in his convictions, or claim an individual a leader when he or she supports the ideas of the popularity, perfectly manages with a public opinion, and can use it in his desirable way. This essay will look at both types of leadership, and at the end present a position that would be more reasonable and persuasive.

If one does research about the current leaders around the world, he will definitely find out the name of the Russian president within this list. “Why?” - may ask a person who is not interested in politics. “Because he is one of the most arrogant, self-confident, aggressive, and authoritarian rulers in the world arena”, - an amateur in this sphere could probably give a response. Unsurprisingly, Mr. Putin received such an opinion among the people because of his attitude and behaviour: he accomplishes the things which only he decides to be right, not the majority of the civil society nor the members of the parliament. For example, in 2016, on the internet people online participated in a survey in which they should have been to choose whether to live in a society where the minority groups, such as gays, lesbians, LGBT would be openly accepted or to prohibit them to reveal their true identities. As the results of the survey revealed, the majority tolerated and defended the rights of the individuals with uncommon characteristics. Unfortunately or fortunately, Mr. Vladimir Putin did not take the opinion of the majority of the population in mind and gave an interview to the press where he explained that results in the survey do not show a real proclivity of the all Russians because the old generation rarely uses high-tech technologies, and that the Russians are not yet ready for the Western tendencies. Such behaviour illustrates a leadership where a leader is not influenced by popular opinion.

On the other hand, supporting an opinion of the majority may result in positive consequences. In politics, such actions are often used by political parties before elections to attract more citizens to vote for them. For instance, in Central Asia politicians are well aware about the constitution of the population: ninety-five of the population are Muslim. That’s why, knowing this fact, they can maneuver the people, promising to build more mosques, and afterwards appealing for sympathy. Another example can be derived from the victory of the political party of the Green in Australia last year when they raised a question of the environment's survival after a numerous fire in forest areas in the country which even in far-located Mongolia people talked about. The Ukrainian president’s Mr. Zelenskiy victory can also be considered as an illustrative example when the leader shifted his mind in accordance with the opinion of the majority for the beneficence of all. All these examples are indicating a leadership when a leader takes into attention the opinion of the popularity.

Overall, the more people, the more opinions there are. It is really sophisticated to say what’s right or what’s wrong, what leader should or should not be. While one half of humanity would defend more stubborn and self-minded leaders, another half would support more democratic and flexible ones. After considering both sides, the author considers the type of the letter one more appealing due to the probability of usage of the majority’s opinion in an effective and advantageous way.