To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The topic raises the controversial issue of whether, to be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards. Indisputably, there are a number of other factors to determine the effective leader, morality one of them. Nevertheless, to be an effective leader, one must think of one's country, and people, which is the result of having moral and ethical standards. Thus, I mostly agree with the assertion that maintaining ethical standards is necessary to be a fruitful leader.

First of all, for the development of a country and the enhancement of people's living standards, a leader must be moral and ethical. Because an ethical leader (instead of thinking of his own improvement) ponders other people and works for them; thus, overall development happens and people feel secure and live standard lives. Take Mahatama Gandhi as an example of an effective leader, who always thought about people, and fought for them. And, people also loved him and follow his command. Because he was known to be an ethical and moral person. If the leader is immoral, he may bring fiasco to the country.

Furthermore, a moral leader can inspire his citizens and encourage other officials to be ethical in their tasks; as a result, all people will remain away from mendacity and will work for their leader. To illustrate, Sheikh Mujibur Rahaman, the father of the Nation of Bangladesh, was known to be an honest leader, who fought for his country and all people followed his command and also offered their lives for the country. If he was not a moral leader, he will not become an effective and fruitful leader of Bangladesh.

Admittedly, there are several leaders who are known to be effective but have some dark sides as well. For instance, Mohammad Ali Jinnah, the father of Pakistan, is known as an effective leader in Pakistan; however, he, in 1947, colluded with the British government to divide the Indian subcontinent and develop a new Islamic country: Pakistan.

In conclusion, although there are some effective leaders with dark sides, having morality and ethic can make a leader more effective and praiseworthy, which leads to the country and its people's overall improvement.