The following appeared in a memo at XYZ company.

"When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited greatly from Delany's services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year Delany's clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh's clients took nine."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given argument says that proposing Walsh Personnel Firm (despite being less expensive) in place of Delany Personnel Firm will be a mistake, based on some blanket assertions: Last year's datum shows that Delany's clients get jobs quicker than do Walsh's clients and current Walsh Personnel Firm remains same as it was 8 years ago. Stated in this way, the argument fails to take several pivotal factors into consideration for which no transparent evidence is provided; therefore, the argument remains fallacious and open for debate. However, in order to make it compelling, evidence for the following three questions must be presented.

First of all, is only one year of data enough to judge that Delany Personnel Firm is better than Walsh Personnel Firm? It has appeared in the memo that last year, the former's clients achieve job offers quickly (within an average of six months). But, what about years before the last year? Or, will this success continue for the following years? Enough information is not provided. It is not tenable, based on only one year's datum, that proposing the latter firm would be a mistake.

Secondly, Did all the clients get jobs within six months? How many trainees did take training from Delany Personnel Firm last year? No numerical evidence of this question is delineated. Perhaps, there were only four trainees (say, A, B, C, and D) and the time they took to find jobs is 1, 1, 10, and 12 months, respectively. In this case, the average is six months; however, is it good data to declare the Delany Personal Farm better?

Furthermore, even if we are convinced that Delany Personnel Firm is better than the other one, but why does the XYZ company need to change its plan to a less expensive firm? Are they encountering money problems? Or, is the former located far away from the XYZ, resulting in more expensive? No clear evidence is presented.

Finally, another assumption is that the present Walsh Personnel Firm is comparable with what it was eight years ago. Perhaps, the current situation is totally different from the past. Maybe, they improved much more than it was eight years ago. In addition, the clients who took training eight years ago were not competent enough; as a result, it took them time to find jobs. To make this assumption more persuasive, the author must demonstrate more evidence.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is to answer the questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), it will be possible to fully assess and bolster the viability of the proposed recommendation that it would be a mistake to propose Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany Personnel Firm.