The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview.

"It is time for the city of Grandview to stop funding the Grandview Symphony Orchestra. It is true that the symphony struggled financially for many years, but last year private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent, and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. In addition, the symphony has just announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. For these reasons, we recommend that the city eliminate funding for the Grandview Symphony Orchestra from next year's budget. We predict that the symphony will flourish in the years to come even without funding from the city."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The given memo suggests stopping funding the Symphony Orchestra in the coming years as it is burgeoning and received private contributions, along with attention from audiences. Stated in this way, the argument fails to take many pivotal factors into consideration for which no transparent evidence is provided. Therefore, the argument remains fallacious and open for debate. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, the following three questions must be answered.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that as the symphony last year achieved 200 percent more private contributions, it no longer needs any funding from the government. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. For example, what if the symphony used to be given 300 dollars from private contributors, but they received 900 dollars last year, which may not enough for them to survive. If that is what is occurring here, then the assertion in the original memo is at best premature and at worst entirely invalid. Thus, before a proper evaluation of the argument can proceed, how much money the symphony used to receive should be mentioned.

Moreover, it is pointed out in the memo that the attendance at the symphony's concert has doubled. This again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any clear correlation between stopping the funding and increased audience at symphony's concerts-in-the-park series. Were these attendees from the city of Grandview? Are they permanent audiences? Were they charged for that very concert? Perhaps, they came over due to the concert was free, or last year the attendance was doubled does not mean that in the following years, the same will happen. If either of these scenarios has merit, the conclusion drawn by the strongly-worded memo does not hold true.

Finally, another assumption is that as the ticket prices have increased, the symphony will no longer need any funding. As mentioned in the memo, the symphony has been struggling financially for many years; due to the increase in ticket prices, the attendance may dwindle; as a result, they might face difficulty. So, solid statistics should be present that in the coming years, the number of attendees will not decrease. Otherwise, the recommendation of stopping funding will be a hasty decision.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully assess and bolster the viability of the proposed recommendation to stop funding.