The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview.

"It is time for the city of Grandview to stop funding the Grandview Symphony Orchestra. It is

true that the symphony struggled financially for many years, but last year private

contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at the symphony's

concerts-­in­-the­park series doubled. In addition, the symphony has just announced an

increase in ticket prices for next year . For these reasons, we recommend that the city

eliminate funding for the Grandview Symphony Orchestra from next year's budget. We

predict that the symphony will flourish in the years to come even without funding from the

city ."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order

to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to

explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the passage states that the city recommends elimination of funding for the Grandview symphony orchestra from next year's budget as they predict the symphony will flourish in the years to come without city funding. Based on the private contributions from the previous year which led to an increase. However, before this proposition can be assessed, three questions must be answered.

First of all, is last year's symphony going to be the same as the coming year’s symphony? In other words, are circumstances the same in the coming years? It is possible that last year and next year’s concert are not similar at all. For instance, the individuals who funded the Grandview symphony orchestra in the preceding year which it prospered may not make available the same funds in the coming years. Perhaps, the sponsors may not be interested in the upcoming events due to their busy schedules. Furthermore, there is a possibility that the quality of last year's orchestra, was not as good as the first one publicly funded, therefore, most of the sponsors will not be providing resources for the forth coming concerts. Or maybe some of the sponsors suggested the show ne done in a certain way which they desire but the organizers refused because there are processes and procedures that must be taken, consequently, that has brought about a rift and they have decided not to fund the show. If the above stated scenarios are true and valid, then the original argument does not hold water.

Secondly, what is the likelihood that there will be as much people in attendance as was the year before? Do a majority of those who attended the concert the previous year intend attending this year? Maybe, the audience that attended the show last year and caused a doubling had a lot of money to play around with because the economy was thriving that year, whereas, next year's economy may not flourish as expected due to a lot of factors. For instance, the united stated in 2019 had lots of jobs, as oil price sky rocketed, which boosted the economy and in 2020, the economy collapsed due to the coronavirus. There is a possibilty that this issue, which has led to the collapse and loss of jobs may still linger, thereby leading to people not wanting to spend money frivolously. If the above reasons are true, then the argument is significantly weakened.

Finally, what is the guarantee that tickets will be bought next year as much as it was bought last year? Is there a possibility that people are willing to spend more money buying tickets for the show? Perhaps, the turnout at the event the past year was so good, which made the organizers decide to increase inflate the price of the tickets. Nevertheless, one cannot use circumstances which led to a lot of ticket sales last year to make an assertion that next year's sales will be great as well, hence the increment in the amount being charged per ticket. Even if, the tickets are being bought at the new price, what is the assurance that in the coming years, the given amounts will always be affordable? If either of the above situations has merit, then the argument is weakened.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is flawed due to its dependence on unwarranted information. The above questions must be answered with more evidence, which needs to be made available by the author for the recommendations to be properly evaluated.