Claim: While boredom is often expressed with a sense of self-satisfaction, it should really be a source of embarrassment.

Reason: Boredom arises from a lack of imagination and self-motivation.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

We can say there are primarily two kinds of people when we talk about boredome. There is one kind of people who always keep them busy with one thing or the other and on the opposite end of the spectrum, there is another kind of people who always complain they are getting bored to death. The prompt suggests boredom should be source of embarassment for it is engendered due to lack of imagination and self-motivation. I agree with the prompt and feel it is when one runs out of motivation and ideas do they feel bored for the following reasons.

Firstly, one can be sure when someone says he/she is bored, what they actually meant is they do not have anything in their mind to do. This can be due to various reasons like - they are unable to come up with something interests them or the very innate nature of those people is they lack imagenation. This causes them to be querulous about boredom to other which in fact is their fault. On the other hand, if a person is imaginative, he/she is sure to come up with ideas and keep themselves busy working on them. In this context, it is pertinent to talk about the me and my brother. We studied in a boarding school all through the shcool. We used to come home during holidays and be busy for the first few days meeting relatives and acquaintances. As days follow by, my brother starts complaining to my parents he was getting bored and he had nothing to do at home. My parents could not do anything but to be empathetic to my brother. On the other hand, though I start to feel bored, I quickly try to keep myself busy by relentlessly thinking about what I can do with the available time and the resources around me. This clearly shows lacking imagination is definitely one of the causes of boredom.

Secondly, another cause of boredom can be due to lack of self-motivation. If we consider the above scenario where my brother used to complain about boredom while I kept myself busy with something or the other, one can uderstand my brother was unable to come up with any ideas because he did not try hard enough to put his brain to work so he can come up with something. It can be frustrating when any idea does not strike our brains. And, I was able to come up with something and my brother could not because not it was easier for me for what so ever reason to come up with an idea than it was for my brother. I was able to come up with an idea because I endured the vex of not coming up wiht an idea and showed perseverance till I got an idea. And to persvere in such situations. Thus, one should have self-motivation as it is the sole reason for anyone to do anything when they have the right atitude.

However, one can claim it is not possible for someone to be always engaged in something and sometimes, boredom is necessary so it gives us a break from a hectic routine. I agree to their point and boredom is good only to an extent where people give rest to their mind for sometime rather than being complacent.

Therefore, boredom should be a source of embarassment as it is caused due to lack of imagination and self-motivation.